The ASCAP Foundation Rudolf Nissim Prize

This $5000 cash prize is presented annually to an ASCAP concert composer for a work requiring a conductor that has not been performed professionally. Dr. Rudolf Nissim, former head of ASCAP's Foreign Department and a devoted friend of contemporary composers, established this annual prize through a bequest. Support for the world premiere of the selected work will be provided. Previous recipients are ineligible. The recipient is selected by a panel of professional concert conductors.

ASCAP members wishing to participate must submit an application and the score of one published or unpublished concert work requiring a conductor scored full orchestra, chamber orchestra, or large wind/brass ensemble (with or without soloists and/or chorus) not previously performed professionally. A work with a performance history will be eligible if earlier performances were, in the judgment of the Committee, clearly non-professional. For this exception to be granted, information regarding previous performances (including programs and announcements) must be submitted with the score, in a separate envelope. Works which set a text protected by copyright must include permission of the author or the author's representative. 

Click here to submit your application and get more details.

You may also write to:

Cia Toscanini, c/o ASCAP
250 West 57th Street
New York, NY 10107

View Past Recipients