The ASCAP Foundation Joe Raposo Children's Music Award

Joe Raposo
Joe Raposo

To honor his legacy, the family of Joe Raposo established The ASCAP Foundation Joe Raposo Children's Music Award, which supports emerging talent in the area of children's music. Raposo, one of the creators of Sesame Street and its first and longtime musical director, wrote music for such diverse talents as Kermit The Frog, Frank Sinatra, Ray Charles, Dr. Seuss, Barbra Streisand and Cookie Monster. "Sing," "It's Not Easy Bein' Green" and the "Sesame Street Theme" are among the songs to earn Joe five Grammys and multiple Gold and Platinum albums.

Only songwriters who have not been signed to a major publishing label or record deal are eligible. Additionally, they must be an ASCAP member or unaffiliated.  The recipient is selected by a distinguished group of writers of children's music.  

Nominations are received from ASCAP Creative Services Executives and various songwriting organizations.

Official Award Rules

View Past Recipients