The ASCAP Foundation Sammy Cahn Award

This award was created to commemorate the life and career of the late lyricist and ASCAP Board Member, Sammy Cahn. Supported by a grant from Tita Cahn, the cash award is given each year to a promising and aspiring lyricist who is an ASCAP member or unaffiliated recommended by ASCAP Creative Services Executives and selected by a distinguished group of songwriters.

Past Recipients:

Anna Tivel 2019
Julian Hornik 2018
Oliver Houser 2017
Caylee Hammack 2016
Amy Kuney 2015
Tori Tullier 2014
Sandy Emory Lawrence 2013
k.s. Rhoads 2012
Katie Herzig 2011
Janet Onyenucheya 2010
Oren Lavie
Devon Sproule
Cinco Paul 2008
Kendall Payne 2007
John Francis 2006
Nicole Atkins 2005
Daniel Mackenzie 2004
Josh Ritter 2003
Lori McKenna 2002
John Mayer 2001
Chris Keup 2000
Andrea Marcum
Rose Polenzani
Kathrin Shorr
Tom Anderson
Tony Wood 1997
Larry D. Loftin
Gary Matanky
John Nye Allee
Felicia Needleman
Laurence Holzman