A Legacy of Ongoing Programs for Music Education, Talent Development, Awards and Recognition supported by ASCAP Foundation Donors


The ASCAP Foundation is incorporated in June after the estate of Jack Norworth, writer of "Take Me Out to the Ballgame," leaves a bequest with instructions to create a program to honor and support young composers.


The ASCAP Foundation Young Composer Awards for composers under 30 (which in 1998 became The ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards) are underwritten by the Jack and Amy Norworth Memorial Fund.

The ASCAP Foundation Raymond Hubbell Award is established in memory of Mr. Hubbell, the writer of "Poor Butterfly," by a trust from Estelle Hubbell, his widow. This award is given to a college music composition student.

The ASCAP Foundation Musical Theater Workshop series is established, followed by the addition of workshops for several other musical genres in subsequent years.


The ASCAP Foundation Richard Rodgers Award is established by Dorothy Rodgers to recognize musical theater veterans. Mr. Rodgers, together with his main collaborators, Lorenz Hart and Oscar Hammerstein II, wrote Broadway classics that include Oklahoma! and The Sound of Music. The award is supported by an endowment from the Rodgers Family Trust.


The ASCAP Foundation Louis Dreyfus Warner/Chappell City College Scholarship is established to honor Mr. Dreyfus, co-founder of the U.S. Division of Chappell Music (now part of Warner/Chappell Music). The scholarship, jointly funded by The ASCAP Foundation, CCNY and the Jean & Louis Dreyfus Foundation, recognizes a composition student.


The ASCAP Foundation Commission Program is created to spotlight and develop the talent of emerging composers.

The ASCAP Foundation Ira Gershwin Award at LaGuardia H.S., NYC is established with funds from the Gershwin family in memory of Mr. Gershwin, the lyricist of "I Got Rhythm," "Someone to Watch Over Me" and "The Man that Got Away."


The ASCAP Foundation Rudolf Nissim Prize is established by a bequest under the will of Dr. Rudolf Nissim, former director of ASCAP's Foreign Department. This prize goes to an ASCAP member composer for a concert work that requires a conductor and has not been previously performed.


The ASCAP Foundation Max Dreyfus Scholarship is established to encourage musical theater composers. It is funded by the Max & Victoria Dreyfus Foundation in memory of Mr. Dreyfus, a former ASCAP board member and mentor to many musical theater legends.

The ASCAP Foundation Boosey & Hawkes Young Composer Award Honoring Aaron Copland at LaGuardia H.S., NYC is established. It is funded by Boosey & Hawkes, publisher for Mr. Copland who composed Appalachian Spring and Billy the Kid.


The ASCAP Foundation Michael Masser Scholarship is initiated with funding from Michael Masser, composer/producer of such songs as "The Greatest Love of All" and "Saving All My Love For You."

The ASCAP Foundation received a bequest from Florence Bennett Cunningham, the wife of ASCAP President Paul F. M. Cunningham, who instructed that the royalties from her husband's works were to aid worthy American composers of musical compositions.

1990 - 2000 | 2001-present

Help music grow.

Make a gift to The ASCAP Foundation today.